There are 12% non-NTN holders in all assemblies: CIRP        MNA Capt. Safdar does not have NTN        KP’s Minister for Finance Siraj-ul-Haq is without NTN        CIRP report unmasks 47% non-taxpaying lawmakers        Prominent non-taxpaying MNAs: Zafrullah Jamali, Mehmood Achakzai, Abid Sher Ali, Sardar Yousaf, Amir Haider Hoti, Murad Saeed, Raza Hayat Hiraj and others Imran Khattak        Tax declarations of 26% MNAs found contradictory with FBR record        Disputed tax record is of Mian Nawaz Sharif, Imran Khan, Moulana Fazl-ul-Rehman, Shah Mehmmod Qureshi, Anusha Rehman and others        Income statements of 25% candidates were inconsistent with FBR record        Conflicting income declarations are of Imran Khan, Ch. Nisar Ali, Ch. Pervez Elahi, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Makhdoom Amin Faheem and others
PM, 3 CMs, 4 Speakers of Assemblies, Ministers, PTI Leaders, Others Made Wrong Declarations
People of Pakistan voted to power 1,070 lawmakers for national and provincial assemblies in general election 2013. This study brings under spotlight the issues of their financial integrity. Analysis of the documents has identified 47% non-taxpaying lawmakers; 12% of them do not have National Tax Numbers, to begin with. Record of 54 members was not available for examination. Remaining 550 members declared tax payments in the nomination papers but this claim of 31% of them has been contradicted by FBR. Only 680 members declared annual income in the nomination papers; declarations of 25% of them have been found inconsistent with the annual income mentioned in their tax record. Download Report

Different Incomes For Showing And Paying Taxes

Massive Spending On Elections But No NTN To Pay Tax

Like discrepancies in tax information, this issue was also noted in the income declarations made by the winning candidates. One has to declare annual earnings — both taxable and exempted — while filing his tax returns. However, analysis of record has found out contradictions in declarations of income made in the nomination papers and disclosed in voluntary tax returns.

Anybody jump into election fray is supposed to have loads of cash parked in banks for spending on campaign but there is no requirement of National Tax Number (NTN), let alone tax payment. One cannot buy a new car without NTN but it is not mandatory for becoming lawmakers who impose tax on others. CIRP study has identified 12 percent members of national and provincial assemblies without NTNs.  

Tax Claims Of Top Leaders Disputed By FBR

Tax Evaders Voted To Power

When a candidate fills out the nomination papers, he/she declares that all the information furnished is correct and agrees that any misrepresentation of facts on his/her part shall be liable to be punished.

Here is the declaration that is signed by each candidate.....

When the election papers were being accepted, Federal Board of Revenue issued a handout to District Returning Officers with a view to assist them in detecting tax default while scrutinizing nomination papers of candidates. It reads: “Filing of income tax return is obligatory if the candidate: 1) Enjoys taxable income of Rs.350, 000 or above……”. In a culture of moneyed politics prevailing in Pakistan, it is hard to believe


 Secret Internal Memo Reveals How STC Cultivated AC Members

Representation Without Taxation: CIRP's Report Unmasked Tax Evasion in Parliament

In November 2012, a senior official of Save the Children wrote a confidential email to his colleagues notifying them about his meeting with ‘our friend’, a prominent member of the Abbottabad Commission. The meeting was a part of intense lobbying inside the Commission to exonerate the NGO from the allegation as CIA’s proxy and its link with Dr. Shakil Afridi.


A study last year by CIRP found 67% lawmakers in the Senate and National Assembly who did not file tax returns in 2011 other than President of Pakistan.  A separate analysis of cabinet members identified 62% ministers as non-filers.  Senate and National Assembly combine have 446 members; 90 of them were without NTN. Even Yousaf Raza Gillani got registered himself for NTN two-years after becoming prime minister. There was no party in the Parliament who did not have non-taxpaying lawmakers.  Ironically, Parliament is the institution authorized to impose taxes but the parliamentarians have not set good example for others to follow. Detail of 2011 Report